MIDEA Connect Webinar > The Met 3D Hackathon: Practical Lessons for Your Institution

Dates: 
1 May 2013 - 12:00pm

10am PT/ 12pm CT/ 1pm ET (check for local time)

Don Undeen, Media Lab Manager at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York will speak to us about museums engaging the maker and hacker communities in the session, The Met 3D Hackathon: Practical Lessons for Your Institution.

About the Webinar
In June of 2012, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, in cooperation with MakerBot Industries, invited 30 digital artists into the museum to photograph collection sculptures, turn those images into digital 3D models, make new works based on those models, and print them on MakerBot's 3D printers. In this webinar, we're going to use the Hackathon as a springboard for considering practical possibilities in your own institution. We'll learn about inexpensive software and hardware that opens up new possibilities for engagement with art lovers of all ages and abilities, and we'll discuss the DIY spirit of cooperation and the creativity behind it all.

About Don Undeen
Don Undeen, Manager of the Media Lab at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, is interested in the intersection of technology, community and the institution. As technology continues to open the world of creative production to a broader spectrum of society, it's important for art museums to open their doors to new kinds of participation and engagement with their collections.

Sparking innovation, learning and creativity.
More >

Identifying the impact of emerging technologies.
More >

The Edward and Betty Marcus Institute for Digital Education in the Arts (MIDEA) provides timely, succinct and practical knowledge about emerging technologies that museums can use to advance their missions.
More >

The largest educational presence in any virtual world, involving more than 150 colleges and universities and a very active community of educators that numbers nearly 12,000.
More >